Shabbat Shalom

Perhaps you are following along with the Lenten Calendar 2011 and read that on Thursday it said to start your 1000 Gifts list.  Ann Voskamp has been teaching me about this since I started reading her blog – my daily dessert – a year and a half ago.  I didn’t start my own list until May 1st of last year and I failed to keep numerical count, but keeping this list is salve to the soul and helps me wear a smile on my face even when the going gets tough.  Here’s a sampling of the gifts (what I like & what I am thankful for) from this week:

  • Driving down Big Bend and really looking – this is God’s world
  • Glenn eating his whole school lunch for the first time ever!
  • The smell of free steaming compost at The Heights
  • The boys talking to each other on the phone
  • Praying in the hallways of our public school
  • The Voskamp’s Lenten Wreath is here!
  • Water that cleans
  • Boys reverently participating in Ash Wednesday Mass
  • Buds, buds everywhere
  • A circle of moms, heads bowed in prayer for our schools and community
  • Dinner ready in less than 10 Minutes (post to follow)
  • Morning sunshine, frost on the ground and warmth in the air
  • Nourishing the Nation workshop – new ideas for teaching!
  • Praying the stations of the cross with strangers – it ripped me right open
  • Boys eager to learn about following Jesus over breakfast pancakes (post to follow)
  • Spring break!!!!
  • Building the hoop house and planting our soon-to-be nourishment into fertile ground
  • 

What are you thankful for this week?

About chefmomrd

Chef, Mom, Registered Dietitian
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shabbat Shalom

  1. craig says:

    I’m here from Ann’s – just took a while to get here 🙂

    First of all – I totally covet your lent candle. amen it’s so important to give thanks when we don’t feel thankful.

    And because even though I’m not Catholic, I know how this can happen, I know the Stations – all of them – and I know what can happen when we pray at each with a devout heart – so my favorite from your list this week is: Praying the stations of the cross with strangers – it ripped me right open

    Thank you for this, and God Bless and Keep you and all of yours.

Leave a Reply

