Productive Procrastination

Today’s Lenten Calendar 2011 intention was to “Do something that you’ve been putting off for a long time or trying to avoid.”  As usual, the list of items I have been procrastinating on is long:

  • complete tax return
  • update the budget
  • call my aunts in Germany
  • plan the garden on paper
  • enter my professional development activities
  • re-write a cooking class curriculum
  • walk to Starbucks to redeem gift card from Christmas
  • and so on…

This list exists in the form of super-sticky Post-It Notes on my kitchen chalk board and many of them have lived up there long enough to become unsticky.  So I thought I’d just pick one for today’s project: the tax return.  And now I have to admit that I was very productive at doing everything BUT the tax return. 

I took the kids swimming, went grocery shopping, cleaned up a bit, checked and responded to emails, did a few other things I had put off, but these things have deadlines, so I HAD to do those.  And everytime I had the opportunity to start on the taxes, I found something else to do to help me warm up for the tax project:

  • make a cup of tea
  • go pee
  • get a piece of bread
  • straighten the papers on my desk
  • check my calendar
  • delete old emails
  • nosh on peanut butter straight from the jar
  • bring the tax box upstairs and congratulate myself on how organized I am

And now it’s 10 p.m., I have a sore throat and I should be going to bed instead of blogging.  I failed.  I confess, I am a productive procrastinator: I keep very busy but don’t get a lot done.  So tomorrow it’s time to use the TIMER, just as FlyLady taught me.  I will set the timer for 15 minutes and focus on just one thing: work on the taxes.   

I’ll keep you posted.

How do you overcome procrastination?  How do you focus your efforts to get stuff done?  I’d love to hear from you.

PS: The camera is dead and still charging…oh, yes…I am accepting imperfection!  Good night.

About chefmomrd

Chef, Mom, Registered Dietitian
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

